My Pregnancy

My pregnancy was beautiful, amazing, and humbling, but I also had a few moments of fear and uncertainty. This was my first pregnancy so I was unsure of what all to expect during this time. My pregnancy holds some of my favorite times in life and also some of the most frightening, but overall it was empowering and liberating to know that I, my body, can far surpass what I ever dreamed it could. So here it is, my pregnancy story..

Cory and I had just got back from a perfect weekend getaway, in Tennessee, with friends. It was Tuesday, February 16, and I decided to take a pregnancy test. I didn’t think it would say that I was pregnant but I had a feeling deep within me that thought something felt different. So for those few minutes {that felt like an hour} waiting for the results, I was just pacing around my kitchen. Finally, I built up the nerve to go look at the test. The test that would change our lives, forever, with the greatest gift we could ever receive. I remember being in shock, even though, in the back of my mind I kind of expected it to say that I was pregnant. I was happy, excited, anxious, and nervous all rolled into one. Now I had to decide how to tell my husband, while a lot of time had passed {without me realizing} and a few minutes later, he walked in the door. I couldn’t quite get the words “I’m Pregnant!” out so I just showed him the test. He grabbed it and looked at it, and I remember taking the test back and saying something like “You don’t want to touch that, I just peed on it.” This was our ice breaker, and after that we hugged each other and tried to hold back tears of excitement.

Within the next few weeks we told our parents and siblings. Then on April 16, when I was twelve weeks pregnant, we announced our pregnancy to the rest of our world.

That fast, my first trimester passed by. And then I was onto my second. Everything was going well, I felt much better and I had some energy again. I loved this part of my pregnancy, and I was starting to get a belly which was really neat to see myself grow and to feel his kicks.  We also found out that our baby was a boy!

img_3566img_3565

 

 

 

 

 

img_3562

Then one day,  in my second trimester, while at work, I had some complications. I was extremely nervous/scared so I called my doctor and he told me to head to labor and delivery right away {which led me to be even more scared!} I got to the hospital and they did multiple tests, scans, and ultrasounds but they weren’t telling us anything. Finally {after what felt like forever passed} they told us the news. I had a placental abruption.  A placental abruption occurs when  the placenta detaches from the inner wall of the womb before delivery. This condition can deprive the baby of oxygen and nutrients. I was told I had to be put on bed rest, which was not easy for me. I am not used to being unable to do anything for myself, but I also knew that it wasn’t for me, it was for my baby. After two weeks on bed rest, I went back to the doctor and was told that I was lifted from bed rest but still needed to be extra cautious. It was also brought to our attention that due to the placental abruption our baby could be preterm, so once the third trimester hit we were trying to make sure everything was ready for our baby boy as soon as possible.

img_3568img_1829img_3570img_3576img_3577img_3578

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

During the third trimester, we had the baby shower, got the nursery ready, packed our bags, and made sure everything was ready to go for our sweet baby boy’s arrival. I was getting pretty large. Being a former college cheerleader, it was hard for me to see myself like this and I knew it would not be easy to get back to my pre-baby body. I kind of got down on myself because of what I looked like, but my {amazing} husband did everything he could to assure me that I was beautiful and that as soon as I had our baby I would be back to my former, normal self. My husband was a better support system, during my pregnancy, than I could have ever imagined. He did absolutely everything he could to make me feel comfortable and happy, but towards the end of my pregnancy that was almost impossible.

I got to 37 weeks and I thought our baby boy would come any day. Every time I called or texted my husband he thought it was time to go! Then the weeks kept passing by, and with every little twinge I thought it’s time, he’s coming today. My due date, October 31, came and went and I was SO ready for him to get here. I was supposed to be induced on November 2, which is the day that Cory had proposed to me in 2014, but I actually started having contractions on my own. Despite the fact that my contractions were getting stronger, and closer together I decided to go to TJ Maxx with my mom. By the time we got home I decided I should probably call Cory and get to the hospital. Once we were admitted to the hospital, we had the flood of emotions again {anxious, nervous, scared, and excited}. We also realized that our baby could be born the same day that Cory had proposed to me two years ago, little did we know our stubborn little guy wouldn’t make his arrival until the afternoon of November 3rd! But we will save that story for a later date!

Thank you so much for reading my lengthy pregnancy story! Have a great week!

xoxo,

mrs. motivated mommy


2 thoughts on “My Pregnancy

  1. I live to hear pregnancy stories because everyone has a different yet special experience. Love that you have a place to share yours and a way for people to hear it! My story is lengthy, scary and at times funny. Children are a true blessing from God and I am thankful everything went well for you! You have a beautiful family!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment